Distinguishing Golden Globes from Oscars

In the world of entertainment, various forms of media such as television, movies, and art hold a special place in the hearts of viewers. Some programs and artworks require expert evaluation to truly appreciate their artistry. The Golden Globes and Oscars are two awards programs created for this purpose.

What is Golden Globes?

The Golden Globe Awards are an American award presented by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA), which consists of 93 members. The Golden Globes recognize and award excellence in film and television, both foreign and domestic. As a significant part of the film industry’s awards season, the formal annual ceremony and dinner culminates each year with the presentation of awards, followed immediately by the Academy Awards, also known as the Oscars.

The Golden Globes were created in 1943 by a group of writers who formed the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. The first Golden Globe Awards took place in January 1944 at the 20th Century-Fox studios, honoring the best achievements in 1943 filmmaking. Today, the Golden Globes are telecast to 167 countries worldwide, making it one of the most widely watched awards programs in the world. Revenues from this annual ceremony allow the HFPA to donate to entertainment-related charities and fund scholarships and other programs for aspiring film and television professionals.

What is Oscars?

The Oscars, also known as the Academy Awards, is an annual awards ceremony that recognizes and awards excellence in the film industry. First presented in 1929 at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, the awards are overseen by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), and winners are awarded the statuette “Academy Award of Merit,” better known as the Oscar.

To be eligible for an Oscar, a film must open in Los Angeles County, California, in the previous calendar year, from midnight at the start of January 1st to midnight at the end of December 31st, except for the Best Foreign Language Film category. The film must also be a minimum of 40 minutes and submitted in either 48 frame/s or 24 frame/s progressive scan digital cinema format or on a 35 mm or 70 mm film print or with a native resolution.

First telecast in 1953, the Oscars is the oldest entertainment awards ceremony. The Grammy Awards (music), Emmy Awards (television), and Tony Awards (theatre) were all modeled after the Oscars. Today, the Academy Awards are telecast live in over 200 countries.

Key Takeaways

  • The Oscars, first awarded in 1929, is the oldest entertainment awards ceremony, while the Golden Globes began in 1944.
  • The Golden Globe Awards are presented by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA), while the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) presents the Oscars.
  • The Golden Globe Awards recognize excellence in all forms of media, while the Oscars focus exclusively on motion pictures.
Dmitri Ivanov
Dmitri Ivanovhttps://whats-different.com
Dmitri Ivanov, a writer and managing editor, was educated in Canada and holds a BS in Science. Dmitri loves doing research, writing, and teaching various courses.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles