Distinguishing Prime Rib, Ribeye, & Sirloin: What Sets Them Apart

The cut of meat from beef that is roasted or grilled is a very common and popular food item for most people in the country. It is not only delicious to eat but also provides lots of nutrition. Steak can be made with the meat of other animals also, but it is the rib section of beef that produces the most tender and flavorful steaks. There are three different steaks called Sirloin, Prime rib, and Ribeye that are obtained from the same rib section of the animal. People always confuse between these three types of steaks. Despite having many similarities, there are also differences that will be talked about in this article.

Prime Rib

This is a steak that is also called standing rib roast. It is obtained from the rib section of the animal that contains ribs from 6-12. A prime rib can contain 2 ribs or all of 7 ribs of the rib section. The name standing rib roast is because of the fact that this meat is roasted with ribs standing vertically. One can cut several prime ribs from a single standing rib roast. Prime rib weighs around 800 grams, and for many connoisseurs, it is a very flavorful steak.


This is a fatty part of the rib section that is also full of flavors. It is one of the fore-ribs that do not have a bone inside. In fact, it is one of the fattiest cuts obtained from the animal. This steak is full of Longissimus dorsi muscle of the animal though there are also muscles like Spinalis and Complexus. In many parts of the world, Ribeye is a steak with the rib bone attached to it, but in the US, there is no rib bone in Ribeye. It becomes a Scotch fillet in Australia with rib bone removed.
Ribeye is a tender cut of meat that comes from that part of the rib cage of the animal that does not have to support the weight or do any hard work. It is full of fat that makes it suitable for slow cooking.


Sirloin is a prime cut from the beef that comes from the loin area of the rib, especially its upper part. It is not the ass but the portion that is in front of the rump. It is a good option for those who are health conscious as it comes from the top and the fat can be trimmed from it. The top-most cut from this section from the lower back of the animal is called sirloin while the lower parts are labeled Tenderloin, top sirloin, and bottom sirloin. Top sirloin is more tender and smaller in size than the bottom sirloin.

Key Takeaways

  • Sirloin, prime rib, and Ribeye are three types of steaks coming from the lower back portion of the animal.
  • Prime rib comes from the rib section of the beef, and it can contain 2-7 ribs. Rib sections contain a total of 7 ribs.
  • Ribeye is very flavorful and fatty, while sirloin is a healthier option as the fat can be trimmed from it.
Dmitri Ivanov
Dmitri Ivanovhttps://whats-different.com
Dmitri Ivanov, a writer and managing editor, was educated in Canada and holds a BS in Science. Dmitri loves doing research, writing, and teaching various courses.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles